Tags

, , , , , , , ,

After a decade of practicing Pilates, both GRC and matt classes, I doubted there was a move I didn’t know.. that is until I had a one-on-one with Daniella Ehrlich, owner/instructor at ARIAPilates which has studios in Sydney’s Paddington and Double Bay.

After arriving at the boutique studio in Paddington – that is complete with reformers, cadillac trapeze and wunda chair – Daniella completed a postural assessment on my slightly lopsided self (thanks to a complicated relationship with scoliosis), discussed my concerns and goals (strengthen, tone, maintain) then proceeded to challenge my hip flexors with gravity-defying positions on the ‘caddy’.

IMG_1513 IMG_1514

 

Next up was the Wunda Chair. My first time on this apparatus and I know why! Hello abs and glutes! Complaints aside, it felt good to start a love/hate relationship with rarely felt muscles.. you know the ones that are hiding under the usual burners that only rear up when you start a new workout, get a new PT or actually pay attention to what you’re doing instead of just going through the motions?? Yep, because I hadn’t had the benefit of a teacher who’d taken individual interest, which is the philosophy at ARIA, I hadn’t worked these babes for a while.

In no way am I against group classes, I go all the time to belt out 45 minutes on the GRC or find my core on my matt, but I’d encourage anyone to try something a little more boutique and reap the benefits.

IMG_1520 IMG_1521

If you want to secure control over your mind, breath and body (in and out of the studio) ARIAPilates is an ideal place to start.

The studio is set back from Oxford Street in a terrace house that is also home to the  Lifepod which offers calm birth lessons and yoga, and as Daniella is a trained professional opera singer, singing lessons are also on offer.

IMG_1524 IMG_1525

Daniella, who trained in New York and London before setting up her studios in Sydney, works her magic on the caddy! (below)

upside down with text and logo image

Find ARIAPilates here.

